top of page

A Full Weekend of Pokemon Playing!

Over the past weekend my local league held the League cup and challenge and I decided to play monday night as well with awesome results.

I decided to play VikaBulu as I thought played Buzzwole Garbodor for like 3 months then going out with something fresh and new would be fun. My first event was the League Challenge.

R1: I went up against an unusual deck - Pumpkin Spice/Rotoms, when I first knew what he was playing I was unsure of how to go against this deck. Game 1 I got the turn 1 Natures Judgement, his frost rotoms were prized and I was able to guzma Tauros GX and a few rotoms for game. Game 2 I was able to again get Turn 2 natures Judgement on a tauros and all he had was a a pumpkaboo and 2 frost rotoms with 3 tools in discard. When I KO'ed the Tauros he promoted the pumpkaboo, top decked an ultra ball for Gourgeist, DCE and 4 tools for a KO on my Tapu Bulu. I promoted a Vikavolt, top decked a skyla. I played Skyla for a switch, played switchoo and I played a heavy ball for a bulu. Played Bulu onto bench attach grass energy, Strong charge and played the switch to KO the opposing Gourgeist. After that, he scooped the round.

R2: Round 2 I went up against an unusual version of Raichu/Pachirisu. This deck had the evoshock Raichu and Raichu BREAK. A few times my opponent was able to evoshock but I was able to retaliate with a guzma or switch everytime bringing up EX or GX.

R3: Round 3 I went up a hilarious licklicky deck that either KO'ed you or paralyzed you. I was able to get out of paralysis with guzma and KO any lickylicky or lickytung in which was able to potentially be a hassle. This was probably the closest game yet.

R4: Round 4 I went up a typical Espeon/Garb (this deck was probably one of the easiest matchups as I somewhat knew what the deck was like. This round again I did the aggressive guzma route and I won the round (im 4/0/0)

Standings before Top 4:

After swiss im 4/0/0 and in 1st place following Cohen Grimshaw with a 3/0/1 record.

Top 4: I went up the Espeon/Garb again and game 1 was that close that I needed to draw a energy to win (in which I did). He decided to do the stall tactic which was a terrible strategy on his behalf. Game 2 (Same result as Game 4.)

Finals: I went up against Cohen Grimshaw and Glaceon/Zoroark. With the 4 choice bands and early Guzma

aggression both games to win the League Cup.

League Challenge:

R1: Pumpkin/Rotoms Game 1 I won, it was fairly close with him returning KO's. I was able to take 4 prize cards with a returning tauros GX. The round was fairly easy.(1/0/0)

R2: I forget?? (2/0/0)

R3: Golipod - with 3 guzma, 4 choice band and a board of GX it was fairly easy to win. (3/0/0) for the League Challenge win.

Monday Night.

R1- Volcanion- My opponent had a 2 lele start and Kiawe onto a Ho-oh GX for turn. I guzma up Ho-oh with a KO (choice band.) (1/0/0)

R2- Alolan Ninetails disruption - I hit with Vikavolt and bulu for game. (2/0/0)

R3- Psychic - I hit with mew for prize trade and set up very well. (3/0/0)

R4- Snorlax - I KO'ed Magnezones and Snorlax GX but FCO Snorlax was a hassle. (4/0/0)

Top 4- Zoropod - Again full field of Zoroarks and a lele. And then I hit heavy again.

He hit me for 150. I guzma up lele and Heal. (Troll) And then I hit heavy again.

Top 2- Tie, I got the drop down in R4 taking me to 2nd place. (5/0/1)

bottom of page